KLOOT Award Bestowed Upon Ethan Campbell-Taylor

Thursday, April 23, 2015

The Yale Record Corporation awarded the KLOOT Award to Ethan Campbell-Taylor, Yale Class of 2016, in recognition of his contributions to The Record’s standing in the Yale community. Ethan is the first recipient of the KLOOT Award, which honors the memory of Frederic J. VanderKloot (1938-2014), Yale College 1959 and Yale Record Business Manager 1958-1959.

The Award was presented at a dinner at The Yale Club of New York City, following a lecture that regaled a packed audience in the Yale Club Library by Robert Grossman ‘61, renowned cartoonist and Yale Record Chairman, 1960-61. In introducing the  lecture, Yale Record Board member Rob Schlaff ’99 gave Robert a framed drawing of “Olde Owle,” admitting him to the Parliament of Owls in recognition to his lifetime contributions to “the insatiable itch of scribbling.”

Others attending the KLOOT Award dinner included The Record’s newly elected Publisher Ian Gonzalez ’15, artist and writer Ilana Straus ’13, Board members Adrian Bonenberger ‘04, Dave Jeffrey ’60, and Don Watson ’59, Robert Grossman guests Elaine Louis and Tracy Turner, and Record alumni and supporters Robert Pellaton ’59, Lynn Pellaton, and Ralph Hirshorn ’60.